Dr Benjamin Field (Osteopath) honoured for his services to ostopathy

Association member has been recognised in the 2024 New Years Honours list

Dr Benjamin James Field (Osteopath) has been honoured with the Order of Australia for his contributions to osteopathy and his work to strengthen the regulation of the profession.

As the founder of Canberra City Health Network, a former President of Osteopathy Australia, and a board member of the Australian and New Zealand Osteopathic Council, his service underscores his commitment to advancing our profession.

BJ’s dedication extends to educating future osteopaths, highlighting his commitment to professional excellence and mentorship in the osteopathic community. Osteopathy Australia welcomes this recognition of industry leaders. 


Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) in the General Division for service to osteopathy.

Health Sector

  • Founder, Canberra City Health Network, since 2004, and Director, 2004-2022
  • Member, Osteopathic Programme Advisory Committee (OPAC), Southern Cross University, 2016-2017
  • Board Member, Australian and New Zealand Osteopathic Council, 2008-2010.
  • Advisory Member, National Registration and Accreditation Scheme, Council of Australian Governments, 2008-2010
  • Member, Australasian Conference of Osteopaths Registration Boards, 2008-2010.
  •  Accreditation Team Member, University of Western Sydney, 2007-2009


  • President, Osteopathy Australia ACT, 2005-2008, and Member, 2003-2008
  • Deputy Chair, Osteopaths and Chiropractors Registration Board of the Australian Capital Territory, 2007-2010
  • National President, Osteopathy Australia, 2008-2010, and Immediate Past President, 2010-2011
  • Board Member, Osteopathy Board of Australia, 2012-2013

Canberra Institute of Technology

• Industry Advisory Board Member, Australian Capital Territory Massage Skills and Training Group,


• Clinical Supervisor, Massage Therapy Clinic, 2003-2004

• Former Lecturer, Massage Therapy course, 2000s


• Consultant, Canberra Raiders, since 2005

• Junior Soccer Coach, Radford College, 2017-2020; Majura Football Club, 2019; North Canberra Futsal, 2014-2016

Awards and Recognition include

• Outstanding Contribution Award, Australian Osteopathic Association, 2010